top of page
Search
  • bmillner2

The Power and Purpose of Delight




I often think and write about the question: “What is the purpose of a photograph (or of photography)?" I have great respect for a variety of different approaches and styles. But I am consistently drawn simply to the formal elements in a photograph. The way the things are depicted in an image, the way the discrete elements relate to one another simply makes me happy. Then almost immediately I wonder, “In a world with so much pain in it, is this escapist or wrong?"


I keep coming back to the conclusion that it is not. Most recently my own biases toward beauty and formalism were confirmed in a New York Times editorial by Catherine Price. The title of the piece was “When the World Feels Dark, Seek Out Delight.” (January 20, 2024). She writes, “The concept of prioritizing delight may sound silly or almost irresponsible, given the heaviness of current events…But this is exactly why it is so important. Far from being a frivolous practice, making a point to notice and share things we find delightful can improve our moods, outlooks, relationships and even physical health.” She concludes her editorial with these words: “This year, like all of them, will be filled with conflict and tragedy. But it will also be filled with delights. Resolve to notice them.”


As a photographer, I move through the world looking for and framing elements in it that delight me. The practice causes me to slow down and to pay attention. The resulting photographs -not always or even often- capture and communicate that moment of delight. Sometimes I discover, usually after the fact, that a photograph I have taken actually does offer commentary on the current situation in the world. But mostly, I revel in the visual delight. And I am pleased to learn, through Catherine Price, that there is evidence to support how important and helpful this can be.


(The photograph accompanying this post represents a “delightful” scene to me. It was taken on a 12th floor balcony of a hotel in Virginia Beach, looking out at the ocean on a rainy day.)

107 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page